Best Things in Life are Free

The best things in life are free.

You’ll probably ask me, what are my best things? And I’ll ask you back, what are yours? What are the best things in your life? Are your best things free?

For me, the best things in life are the beauty of God’s creation, the love of a mother, and the love on the Cross. And when I said, “free,” I meant that these are free for one to receive,”  free for one to have.

Whether you are laughing care-freely, or trying to fight back your tears, you would be grateful for cool breezes that brush against your face on any Spring morning. Birds chirp as when they like, wild flowers bloom at their own time, ocean waves roll in to the shores in rhythm. Merrying or downcast, there is always something in God’s creation that you could relate to, that would minister to your soul. Even the most unappreciative person on earth would be grateful that the sun still shines after a long, dark night.

I once lived in the hustle and bustle of a big city. One day by chance, I decided to stop by an unfamiliar restaurant to have an earlier supper. Near the restaurant was a lake that not many locals talked about. Once there, I sensed that God was calling out to minister to me at the lake that evening. I needed that moment. So, after ordering my food, I actually went ahead to spend a few moments at the lake. The lake was glimmering in gold, reflecting the gorgeous beams of the setting sun. I prayed to God in praise of His beauty. Tears suddenly welled up in my eyes… A pertinent issue that I had been struggling with raised its head again to disturb me, and just as I wanted to pray, “Lord, You know that I can’t do it … ,”  I received an instance assurance from God that I would be an overcomer of the issue –because He has promised so.

For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world— our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? – 1 John 5:4-5

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace… Take heart; I have overcome the world. – John 16:33

That evening, there were healings in the golden rays of my Lord my God. All was free. Gladly I received His promise then, gladly I cherish the fulfillment of His promise today.

But for you who fear my name, the sun of righteousness shall rise with healing in its wings. You shall go out leaping like calves from the stall. – Malachi 4:2

Some people never learn to appreciate their moms until they themselves become parents. As for me, I have aged enough to apprehend the life choices that my mom has made for the family. Mom survived World War II. As her parents lost the ability to work then, mom together with two other oldest siblings, shouldered the difficult role of providing for the family as well as supporting financially for the education of their four younger siblings. She gave herself freely to her family.

After marrying my dad, mom dedicated herself totally and freely to our family. She was a busy working mom. She rose before sun rise to cook, rushed off for work, and tried to come home in time to make sure that we had her (and dad’s) company during lunch. Even though we had a maid at home, mom did not delinquish her nurturing role as a mother. In the evening, she taught me English grammar. She taught me how to pray. She taught me how to remove a chiffon cake from its baking pan.  There were only two things that mom reserved time for herself through the years: first, her own reading time; second, her worship time with God, along with her teaching hours at Children’s Sunday School.

With the birth of my first nephew Elijah, mom became a grandmother. Even though  severe lung fibrosis had threatened mom’s life, she tried to interact with Elijah on her better days. With her limited strength and energy, she was able to invent a “beat the table” movement game for baby Elijah to participate. In that game, she would lead in beating the table once, awaiting for Elijah to respond with his. When Elijah figured out her game invitation and responded, mom would vary the frequency or speed. Thus was the grandma-grandson precious time together. That is my mom, an amazing mom. Her love is free.

You probably have a great mother like mine. I thank God for yours. Because the love of mom are mere reflection of a big picture of love, God’s love.

By His grace, I’ve gotten and tasted God’s big and personal love for me for free since November 22, 1989. How about you?

Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; He is the faithful God, keeping His covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love Him and keep His commands. – Deuteronomy 7:9

This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. – 1 John 4:9-10

But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, He saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to His own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit,  whom He poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior,  so that being justified by His grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life. – Titus 3:4-7

For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. – John 3:16

God’s Love for Us – Francis Chan.mov

Excerpt from a sermon by Francis Chan. Excellent illustration of how God truly feels about us. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lL2WAbbaauQ

About Florence Kuek

Was lecturer and researcher at a state university. Currently serving as Head of Student Services at a college. Has a pastoral heart for people. PhD candidate, Chinese Studies at University of Malaya.
This entry was posted in Experiencing God, Life, Scripture, Spring, The Cross. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Best Things in Life are Free

  1. Amelia says:

    I love Francis Chan! He is one of my favorite pastors!!

  2. Amelia says:

    I loved reading about your mom and her sacrificial love for your family. Such a beautiful lady who loves the Lord! You are right, the best things in life are free and I am so thankful today for the joy and strength that I have from Christ!

Leave a Reply

