Sky

On the morning when I turned 10, mom gave me an alarm clock as my birthday gift. “From today onwards, you’ll manage your own time.” She said. I was supposed to manage what time I was to wake up, what time I was to practice the piano, etc.

And so, I was well-trained to manage my own time, my own life… sort of. As a preteen, I had already resented the idea of having an insignificant life. Like every other ordinary kid who has a little ambition, I was hoping for a life that is far from ordinary. While I did not pray for having an extraordinary life, I wanted my life to be more than simply insignificant in every sense.

And… I finally met God. Or rather, God’s grace found me.

He touched my ordinary life, and prepared for me a purposeful, meaningful and many a times, fulfilling life journey with Him. 

It took years for things to start coming together though. I remember a conversation with my college roommate a year after we graduated and found our respective jobs. She was building her career path in banking and finance. While I was sticking with the education. Her advice to me, “Build your career path carefully and intentionally. Then you’ll have much chance to rise up from a worker of small company to an executive of a listed enterprise.” While I did appreciate her advice, I couldn’t tell how that was going to work for me in my field of specialty. I wanted to be a knowledge worker, who is capable to research, teach, write, mentor and bless others. Do I have a set “career path” to pursue? What could I actually build on, except that I put in my best in the existing job and people that I had been given?

And I told the Lord that I want to serve Him all the days of my life

One fine evening, when I was talking my evening job at a park, I saw a plane flying across the sky. I prayed, “Heavenly Father, I want to fly with You. I’m ready.

14 years later, He prompted me to leave my lecturing job in order to move on to my new training ground: the theological seminary. In the seminary, I had a few other conversation with others regarding “career.” But these conversations turned out to be the ones that finally make sense to my life experience. One of those was regarding following God. Someone shared regarding his own journey, “When you’re following God, you realize that from point A to point C, you’ll need to go through point B. And so, you prayed to God, and God opens the door to make it possible for you to move from A to B. But at point B, you realize that God is actually pointing you to point D.” Another said, “Following God means you are willing to embrace uncertainty. Like Abraham responding to God’s calling to move, but he has to be willing to move at anytime, to anywhere God wants him.” One of my professors told me, “Whatever it is going to be, you’re at the right place, at the right timedoing what you’re supposed to be doing in God’s BIG plan for your life.”

And I would add here: Following God also entails that you’ll be dreaming God-sized dreams, and doing things that are beyond your imaginations.

Before you knew it, your worship of God becomes contagious. Other worshipers  raise up to join you in worshiping Him.

Before you became exhausted, your burden has miraculously been lightened because many others started getting busy serving God in the exact areas you would love to cover.

By the end of the day, your laughter blends in with the joy of others whose God is your God.

By the end of the day, you come to a realization that God indeed, can do anything for His own glory – through us and in us. And the magnitude of how He accomplishes it … only the sky is the limit!

Nothing is impossible with God Almighty (Mark 10:27). Everything is possible when He willed it, and wanted it for His Kingdom purpose. That’s the kind of career that I aspire to have a share of it. 

Resource:  Beyond the Sky – Gospel DVD (15 minutes)            http://www.christianfilms.com/beyondtheskydvd.htm

Fly – Group Sky VBS Theme Song 2012 sampler            http://www.concordiasupply.com/Vacation-Bible-School/Music-Group-Sky-VBS-2012

About Florence Kuek

Was lecturer and researcher at a state university. Currently serving as Head of Student Services at a college. Has a pastoral heart for people. PhD candidate, Chinese Studies at University of Malaya.
This entry was posted in Kingdom Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sky

  1. Amelia says:

    Thanks for sharing. This is so encouraging and a great reminder that God will fulfill His purpose and dreams in us if we surrender ALL to Him. 🙂

  2. Amelia, thank you for having prayed for Florence and me! We certainly keep you in our prayers also – May the Lord Almighty be with you and bless you always. Florence and I look forward to seeing you in Cary in May!

  3. Amen, Florence. Nothing is impossible with God Almighty — because he is the God of the universe, our Creator and sustainer. I will sing to the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live. May my meditation be pleasing to him, as I rejoice in the LORD (Ps. 104:33-34).

Leave a Reply

