Leap like a deer

It was early Saturday morning. We were driving on Belmont Ridge Rd, just getting ready for the day out.

When we least expected it, a handsome deer emerged from the right hand side of the road about a yard in front of our car. It then ran across the road virtuously.

Lo and behold: the deer crossed the street in a good speed, and without losing any of its momentum, leaped gracefully over the stretch of wooden fences on the other side of the road… How amazing.

As I was doing cleaning jobs around the house today, this beautiful imagery of the leaping deer came back to my mind, reminding me to pursue God’s vision even in any ordinary day. Also, I am aware that when I pursue Him, I might need to take a leap of faith when responding to His leadership and challenges down the road.

In our mundane lifestyle, it’s very easy for us to lose our passion for Christ and lose sight of what God wants for us for eternity sake.

We once dreamed God-sized dreams because of our previous first hand insights with Him. However, we often left those memories behind along with our yesterdays. As days go by, we lose our momentum in pursuing our high calling.

We struggle with our heart issues. We could not love Him with all our hearts. We let God’s things sit and do nothing about it. We told Him that He is the Master of our lives, but we forgot to continually seek His will and directions for our lives. We didn’t spend enough time to pray, listen, and act… I, for one, am guilty about it.

The imagery and reminder of a leaping deer… Such a fresh and clear message for me.

O Lord, I will take this reminder seriously. I want to seek Your will again, even now.

“‘Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,’ declares the Lord, ‘and will bring you backfrom captivity.'” – Jeremiah 29:12-14

“For who is God, but the LORD?  And who is a rock, except our God?— the God who equipped me with strength and made my way blameless.
He made my feet like the feet of a deer and set me secure on the heights.
He trains my hands for war, so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.
You have given me the shield of your salvation, and your right hand supported me, and your gentleness made me great.
You gave a wide place for my steps under me, and my feet did not slip.”                               Psalm 18: 33-36

About Florence Kuek

Was lecturer and researcher at a state university. Currently serving as Head of Student Services at a college. Has a pastoral heart for people. PhD candidate, Chinese Studies at University of Malaya.
This entry was posted in Experiencing God, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leap like a deer

  1. Thank you for this beautiful message – A leap of faith- Love these words “reminding me to pursue God’s vision even in any ordinary day” Refreshing to my soul. Thanks for sharing. God Bless.

  2. God bless you too, Darlene.

Leave a Reply

